5 Stadium Facts About The Maracanã, The World Cup 2014 Final Stadium

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qM5LKekmITI

  1. The final of the FIFA World Cup 2014 will be held in the Estádio do Maracanã, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on Sunday the 13th of July 2014 at 16:00 local time.
  2. The Estádio do Maracanã (renamed in 1966 to Estádio Jornalista Mário Filho after the Brazilian football writer) is one of the largest football stadiums in the world. It has a maximum capacity of 80,000 spectators.
  3. The Estádio do Maracanã was originally built for the 1950 World Cup with a capacity of almost 200,000.
  4. More than 60 years after the 1950 World Cup, the Maracanã is the homeground of the 4 largest clubs in Brazil: Botafogo, Flamengo, Fluminese and Vasco da Gama.
  5. Brazil suffered one of its worst historical defeats in the Maracanã. In 1950, the Brazilian team only needed a draw to be crowned world champions. The almost 200.000 spectators were devastated when Brazil lost 1-2 to rivals Uruguay. This is still a national trauma in Brazil.

Local times of the World Cup 2014 Final
US: New York: 3pm / Los Angeles: 12pm
Europe: Paris: 21:00 / Moscow: 23:00 / London: 20:00
Japan: Tokyo: 04:00
China: Beijing: 03:00
Australia: Sydney: 05:00

Reacties

reacties